• deel op facebook
  • deel op twitter



Journalismfund.eu was created in the autumn of 2008 as a European project of the Belgian Pascal Decroos Fund, an organisation founded in 1998 to further quality and investigative journalism in Flanders and abroad. By 2013, after 15 years, it was time for the Pascal Decroos Fund to take the next step and go international. On 22 January 2013 the Pascal Decroos Fund officially took over the name of its European project and became Journalismfund.eu.

The Directors

The direction team consists of a Managing Director and a Director Europe.

  • The Managing Director is responsible for running the organisation's daily activities and administering its finances.
  • The Director Europe is responsible for the European working grants and composes the jury based on the longlist proposed by the board.

The Advisory Board

The Director Europe can turn to a group of three daily advisors, who support him or her with the day-to-day decisions. The group will consist of the Managing Director as well as two members of the Journalismfund.eu board.

The Jury

The jury is composed of persons in the field of investigative journalism, related academia or other relevant media personalities suggested on the long-list by the advisory board. The jury consists of four respected personalities - preferably representing different parts of Europe.

The jury is anonymous. One member leaves the jury every year and steps out publicly. Former jury members are a growing "backing group" with good insights to advise the advisory board and director.Jury members can not apply for research grants.