To safeguard its firm roots in the European investigative journalism community and as a source of good advice, has an International Advisory Board to turn to. It consists of representatives from associations and centers for investigative journalism and other esteemed individuals in the community. Or they are professional (investigative) journalists who dispose of a strong network in their own country. Advisory board members themselves can not apply for our journalism work grants.

The task of the Advisory Board consists of:

  • guiding the organisation;
  • providing advice regarding the selection of jury members;
  • spreading calls and other communications;
  • feedback on the possible need for support in the journalism community, among others.

The Advisory Board members act as an (informal) international sounding board and further the network in which the organisation operates.

  • Günter Bartsch is the managing director of Netzwerk Recherche, the German association of investigative journalists. @guebartsch
  • Leila Bičakčić,  is the Director of the center for Investigative Reporting in Bosnia and Herzegovina. @LBicakcic
  • Tamás Bodoky is a Hungarian journalist and the founder and director of Center for Investigative Journalism in Budapest.
  • John Bones is Managing Director at SKUP, the Norwegian Foundation for Investigative Reporting. For many years, Bones was the datajournalism specialist at VG.
  • Evert de Vos is a Dutch journalist (De Groene Amsterdammer) and chair of the Dutch-Flemish association of investigative journalists VVOJ@evertdev
  • Nadine Gogu is the director of the Independent Journalism center (IJC), a leading media resource center in Moldova.
  • Zaklina Hadzi-Zafirova is a Macedonian journalist and co-founder of Scoop Macedonia.
  • Milorad Ivanovic is is an editor-in-chief at BIRN Serbia in Belgrade. He is also a coordinator and trainer on the project “Technical Assistance to Public Service Media in the Western Balkans”. He is a contact person for the Western Balkans of the Dart Center for Trauma and Journalism. And member of ICIJ. -
  • Sanita Jemberga is an award winning Latvian investigative journalist who has worked in the press and television since 1996. In 2014, she joined Re:Baltica, the Baltic Center for Investigative Journalism, where she serves as executive director and editor along Inga Spriņģe. @jemberga
  • Eva Jung is an investigative journalist with the Danish newspaper Berlingske and vice chair of The Danish Association For Investigative Journalism (FUJ). Eva is also a board member of GIJN.
  • Minna Knus-Galán is a Finnish investigative journalist working for Finnish Public Broadcaster Yle. She was given the Finnish Journalist of the Year Award 2014. Minna is a member of ICIJ.
  • Remzi Lani is the Executive Director of the Albanian Media Institute. He is founder and first President of the South East Network of Media Centers and Media Institutes, which brings together 15 Media Institutes / Media Centers from SEE. -
  • András Löke is a Hungarian journalist working with ultralocal news in Budapest. He also works with the Soma Foundation, who give annual awards for investigative journalism.
  • Xhelal Neziri is a Macedonian journalist and co-founder of Scoop Macedonia.
  • Rachel Oldroyd is the Editor of the Bureau of Investigative Journalism in London (UK). @Raoldroyd
  • Sandor Orban is the Director of the Budapest Center for Independent Journalism, a Hungarian media development NGO.
  • Andras Petho is a Hungarian journalist and co-founder of Direkt36, a non-profit investigative journalism center based in Budapest. Previously, he had worked at Hungarian news site Origo, the BBC World Service in London, and the investigative unit of The Washington Post.
  • Chiara Sighele is a staff member of the Osservatorio Balcani e Caucaso Transeuropa (OBCT) and one of the main coordinators of EDJNet. @ChiaraSighele
  • Josef Šlerka is a data journalist and media specialist from the Czech Republic. @josefslerka
  • Jean François Tanda  is the general secretary of JournaFONDS in Switzerland. - @JFTanda
  • Stanimir Vaglenov is the founder of Bulgarian Center for investigative journalism. He works for the daily newspaper 24 Casa in Sofia, Bulgaria.
  • Tarmo Vahter is deputy-editor-in-chief of the weekly newspaper Eesti Ekspress in Tallinn, Estonia.
  • Pilar Velasco is a Spanish journalist currently working at Cadena SER (Prisa Group), the radio network leader in Spain. She is also the founder and a board member of La Asociación de Periodistas de Investigación with the aim of promoting cross-border investigative journalism and reinforcing freedom of expression. @pevelasco
  • Fouad Youcefi is the chairman of the Swedish organisation for investigative journalists, Grävande Journalister
  • Kostas Zafeiropoulosis is an investigative journalist for one of Greece's biggest newspapers, Efimerida ton Sintakton (Journalists' Journal) and one of the founders of the non-profit organisation The Mediterranean Institute for Investigative Reporting (MIIR). @K_Zafeiropoulos
International Advisory Board